Business 2.0

December 12, 2007

Must have features for product?

There was a discussion going on for “what are the MUST HAVE use would like to see in a mobile?

I felt I should write my thought process on this, here we go!

Let me clear one thing, I don’t have any feature suggestion, However I felt I should still share this thought process. 

I think, we should ask following questions to ourselves before we decide the MUST HAVES!

 ·         What’s the greatest thing user like about any mobile? In my opinion, one of the key factor user would be looking is  “USABILITY”! 

 ·         Why people were crazy about ‘i-phone’? or for that matter any product from apple?I think, USABILITY is very very important factor whenever we consider any product in “retail consumer” market.  

·         I have even seen people changing their mobile models but don’t change their mobile company? Why?  the most probable answer would be usability … the way they “USE FEATURES” 

·         Now looking at usability, again we can drill down with few more questions!

 ·         Can we know any customer who have used or currently using *ALL* features provided by a “Product”?

I bet, we would not find many :( Again in my opinion the key is, customer doesn’t use 100% of the feature provided by product. (If you have a customer, then I believe you/your product goes into luckiest list ;) 

·         Then next question comes, If we consider that 90 % of customer doesn’t uses “ALL” feature then what most likely feature they would use? 
 
Or 
 
·         What’s “HOTTEST” feature they use? and why?  If we search the result, we might end up with 80/20  result!

It means 80 % of consumer uses “COMMON” 20 % of the features. and i think, that’s what are the MUST HAVE !  

·         Now If consider 20 % features, they might say, I can ‘write SMS easily/effectively”  now would you consider this as must have? ;)

If anyone has any other thought process or would like to criticize, please share your thoughts.

 -Yogesh

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.